Family, Mystery/Thriller

While You Were Sleeping by Kathryn Croft

I received this novel as an advanced copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I wish people would stop comparing every psychological thriller to Gone Girl. I am getting quite tired of hearing of so many novels being “perfect for fans of Gone Girl” and I’m saying this because it is unfair to the author and their work. An author could have written a really good story, but then having this name-dropping means that people will read their book and expect it to be just like Gone Girl. When it isn’t like that at all, then readers feel that they have been cheated. That’s why I’ve decided to ignore any comparisons to other books that are used, and just focus on the premise of the story itself when choosing the next book I want to read. That’s what I did with this novel, and I am very happy with this decision – because this book was good in its own original way!

Tara Logan has her fair share of problems. Her husband, Noah, is not always the comforting man she needs, and while her 11-year-old son Spencer is a well-behaved child, her teenage daughter Rosie is the exact opposite. However, amidst all the chaos, she is at peace with her life and herself. That is, until she wakes up in bed with her neighbour, Lee, in his home with no idea of how she got there. To make matters worse, Lee has been stabbed to death. Convinced she didn’t kill Lee but with no way of proving her innocence, Tara remains silent during the investigation. But when the truth comes out, Tara could never have predicted how it would cause her life to spiral out of control. Will one night cost Tara everything?

This is the first time I’ve read a book by this author and it was quite good! The story was gripping and from the get-go, I was hooked. This is a fast-paced novel and it is easy to get caught up in the mystery of it all. There are so many weird characters, who could all potentially be involved in the murder, so I was guessing the entire time! At one point, I thought the author was going with one angle that I really wasn’t too pleased with but at the last minute, she added a twist that really caught me off-guard and worked well with the whole story! Most of the time, I enjoyed the story and the dialogue but at times, I found Tara to be a little cheesy and weird when confronting people. Other than that, I had a great time reading this novel, and I hope to read more by this author!

Leave a Reply