Fantasy

Review: The End Of Magic by Mark Stay – BLOG TOUR

A standalone adult fantasy story featuring 2 mages facing the end of magic as they know it


Disclaimer: This blog contains affiliate links. I make a small commission when you decide to buy books via the Amazon or Book Depository purchase links available in the book review's post.


Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The End of Magic by Mark Stay! If you are looking for an intense and engaging standalone fantasy story, then this is the one for you!

The End of Magic book cover

The End of Magic

by Mark Stay

Published January by Unbound Digital
ISBN: 1789650046

Data from Goodreads

Two powerful mages. One steeped in privilege, the other bound by a moral code. Their world is thrown into chaos by the end of magic.

‘What will you do when the magic is gone?’

Sander Bree is a royal mage. He lives an easy life advising the king on matters of court and politics, yet he still complains that he’s stuck in a rut.

Rosheen Katell is a wandering mage and, with Anzu her griffin, she’s worked hard to build a reputation as a trustworthy truth seer. She never lies, never kills. 

Very soon, their magic will be gone. A cataclysmic event will change their lives and world forever. 

Sander must keep a promise that would have been difficult enough with magic, but is a suicide mission without it. 

Rosheen is forced to side with a murderous warlord, and her once-solid principles are tested and found wanting. Both will be set against one another in a war unlike anything the world has seen before, in this sweeping fantasy of magic’s ending.

A stand alone fantasy novel for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch

My Review: Everything You Could Ask For From High Fantasy

I don’t generally read high fantasy but the premise and the fact that it’s a standalone novel convinced me to take the plunge. This was such a deeply immersive tale and I’m glad I didn’t pass it up!

The Pros: What worked for me

  • The worldbuilding was fantastic. There is so much attention to detail and everything made sense. It was neither too complex nor overly simplified. The author did a great job of teasing little nuggets of information as the story went on and I really felt part of this world.
  • Such a fantastic range of characters! The story is written from multiple perspectives, and each one is unique! I loved the entire cast, as the author really gave them all distinct personality traits. Each one is strong in their own ways and the reader really gets to understand what motivates their actions and behaviours.
  • The plot was so engaging! I could not put this book down, as it followed the journey of the various players. There were also no plot holes, so I was able to just enjoy the story.
  • The writing style itself is just so great! Wildly descriptive, the author actively uses sarcasm and humor to infuse more life into a story that is already brimming with energy!

The Cons: What I didn’t like

  • The ending was a tad bit abrupt for me and I almost turned a page looking for mention of a sequel.

As you can tell, I had a great time reading this novel! From the writing style to the character development to the actual plot, this story delivered on all fronts. If you are looking for an engaging standalone fantasy, I would highly recommend this one! I’m giving it 4/5 stars!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Mark Stay co-wrote the screenplay for Robot Overlords which became a movie with Sir Ben Kingsley and Gillian Anderson, and premiered at the 58th London Film Festival. Author of the fantasy novel The End of Magic, he is also co-presenter of the Bestseller Experiment podcast and worked in bookselling and publishing for over twenty-five years. He lives in Kent, England, with his family and a trio of retired chickens. He blogs and humblebrags over at markstaywrites.com

Leave a Reply